Skip to main content

Managing Users and Groups

Managing Users

Admin of a workspace can add users to the workspace. To manage the users in your workspace, just go to the Workspace menu on top right corner and click on the Manage Users.

ToolJet - Managing Users and Groups

Inviting users

Admins can invite anyone to a workspace using the email address. To invite a user:

  • On the Manage Users page click on the Invite new user button.

ToolJet - Managing Users and Groups

  • Now enter the details of new user such as first name, last name, email, and then click on the Create User.

ToolJet - Managing Users and Groups

  • An email including the Invite Link to join your workspace will be send to the created user. The status will turn from invited to active after the user successfully joins your workspace using the invite link.
tip

You can also copy the invitation url by clicking on the copy icon next to invited status of the created user.

ToolJet - Managing Users and Groups

Disabling a user's access

You can disable any active user's access to your workspace by clicking on the Archive and then the status of the user will change from active to archived.

ToolJet - Managing Users and Groups

Enabling a user's access

Similar to archiving a user's access, you can enable it again by clicking on Unarchive. The status of user will change from archived to invited and the user will have to join again using the invite link recieved via the e-mail.

ToolJet - Managing Users and Groups

Managing Groups

On ToolJet, Admins can create groups for users added in a workspace and grant them access to particular app(s) with specific permissions. To manage groups, just go to the Account menu on top right corner and click on the Manage Groups.

ToolJet - Managing Users and Groups

Group properties

Every group on ToolJet has three components:

Apps:

Admins can add or remove any number of apps for a group of users. To add an app to a group, select an app from the dropdown and click on Add button next to it. You can also set app permissions such as View or Edit for the group. You can set different permissions for different apps in a group.

ToolJet - Managing Users and Groups

Users:

Admins can add or remove any numbers of users in a group. Just select a user from the dropdown and click on Add button to add it to a group. To delete a user from a group, click on Delete button next to it.

ToolJet - Managing Users and Groups

Permissions:

Admins can set granular permission like creating/deleting apps or creating folder for a group of users.

ToolJet - Managing Users and Groups

tip

All the activities performed by any Admin or any user in a workspace is logged in Audit logs - including any activity related with managing users and groups.

Predefined Groups

By default, every workspace will have two User Groups:

1. All Users

This group contains all the users and admins.

AppsUsersPermissions
You can add or remove apps.Modification is disabled. This group will have all the users and admins added in a workspace.You can edit permissions for all the users globally.

ToolJet - Managing Users and Groups

2. Admin

This group contains admins by default. Admins can add more admins or remove the users in this group.

AppsUsersPermissions
Modification is disabled. By default, this group has Edit permission for all the apps in a workspaceAdmins can add or remove users in this group.Modification is disabled. By default, all the admins can create and delete apps or create folders.

ToolJet - Managing Users and Groups

Creating new group

  • Click on Create new group button in the User Groups page.

ToolJet - Managing Users and Groups

  • Enter a name for the group and click Create Group button.

ToolJet - Managing Users and Groups

  • Once the group is created, you can add Apps, Users and set their Properties for that group.

Deleting a group

To delete a group, click on Delete next to it. It will confirm whether you want to delete it or not, Click on Yes to delete the group.

ToolJet - Managing Users and Groups